What are Missouri’s Dog Bite Laws?
June 20, 2019 | Dog Bites
Thousands of people are injured in dog bite accidents every year. In the state of Missouri, if another person’s dog injures you, the dog owner is strictly liable for your damages under Missouri’s dog bite laws. Proving that a dog owner is liable for your injuries can be difficult when dealing with the aftermath of a traumatic dog bite accident, but hiring an experienced Missouri Dog Bite Accident Lawyer to handle your case ensures that your case is backed by a strong claim, and that you and your family have the support you need during this difficult time.
Missouri Dog Owner Liability
If you or someone you love has been injured in a dog bite accident, you could be eligible to recover compensation from the dog’s owner for your harm and losses, which can include medical expenses, pain and suffering, property damage, and loss of affection. In the state of Missouri, a dog’s owner is considered liable in a dog bite accident, even if the animal was restrained, and the owner didn’t do anything wrong in regards to protecting others from harm. If a dog owner is proved negligent in a bite accident, the owner of the animal is responsible for the animal’s harmful actions. With help from an experienced Missouri Dog Bite Lawyer, a dog owner’s negligence can be proven quickly with the following evidence:
- Police Report
- Report to St. Louis Animal Regulation Center
- Information about the dog – breed, size, owner’s name, contact information, witness reports
- Proof of injuries sustained without provocation – photos, video, torn clothing, medical report from a physician
If a dog owner is found liable in a dog bite accident in Missouri, they are required to pay up to a $1,000 fine. In addition to this, if the accident caused serious harm or death to another person, or the dog had attacked someone else in the past, the animal is required to be seized immediately by St. Louis Animal Control, impounded, and put to sleep to prevent future harm being done to others.
Missouri Dog Bite Statute
Missouri has a strict deadline for filing dog bite claims. Dog bite claims in Missouri must be filed within five years of an accident under Missouri’s Statute of Limitations (§273.036). If a claim isn’t filed within this time frame, the victim relinquishes their right to file a claim and sue the dog’s owner for damages.
If you decide to bring a claim against a dog’s owner for your harm and losses, it’s essential to hire an experienced Dog Bite Lawyer in Missouri to represent your case. While Missouri’s Dog Bite Statute is strictly liable, the dog owner’s insurance company could attempt to deny your claim, pin partial blame on you for the accident (provocation, trespassing), or offer you a lower settlement than you could be entitled to if you don’t have a lawyer by your side offering protection. An experienced lawyer can alleviate stress during this time, offer support, and prove the dog owner’s negligence with a compelling claim.
Speak with a Missouri Dog Bite Lawyer Today
If you or someone you love has been injured in a dog bite attack in Missouri, you need a lawyer. An experienced lawyer can determine liability in the accident, create a strong claim for your case, and negotiate for the most compensation for your harm and losses caused in the dog bite accident.
Christopher Dixon and the St. Louis Dog Bite Lawyers at the Dixon Injury Firm have recovered more than $35,000,000 in personal injury settlements for Missouri injury and wrongful death victims, and understand what it takes to recover the highest settlement for your dog bite accident case.
For more information on how our Dog Bite Lawyers in Missouri can help with your case, call (314) 208-2808 or contact the Dixon Injury Firm today to schedule a free consultation.