Car accidents can be costly and take a lot of time and effort to straighten out. Depending on the severity of a car accident, there may be medical bills, ambulance fees, pain and suffering, and other damages involved. If you have car insurance coverage, these costs may be covered by your insurance company, but if you don’t have car insurance, you might have to pay for these damages out of pocket. If you have been involved in a car accident and don’t have car insurance, act quickly, and speak with a car accident lawyer to see how to best proceed with your case.
Is Car Insurance Mandatory in Every State?
In most state’s there is a minimum amount of coverage that must be purchased by drivers. The amount and type of coverage that each state requires vary but are generally between $15,000 to $30,000 per person. If you are involved in a car accident, insurance coverage not only benefits you but the other driver as well. Car insurance coverage may pay for some or all of the damages that occurred in the accident. Insurance coverage can save you from potentially paying thousands of dollars to the other driver in the accident. If you don’t have insurance and are involved in a car accident, even if you’re not at fault, you may face fines and fees for driving without insurance depending on your state’s driving laws. If you’re unsure about whether or not you need insurance in your state, or have the right amount of coverage to stay protected in a car accident, speaking with your lawyer can help.
What if I am Liable for a Car Accident and Don’t Have Insurance?
There are many factors that are considered by insurance companies when determining a settlement amount for a car accident. These factors include:
- Did the accident happen in an at-fault or no-fault state? If in a no-fault state, regardless of fault, drivers cannot sue other drivers for damages. Claims must be filed with their own insurance company or damages must be paid for out-of-pocket. If an accident occurs in an at-fault state, which drivers can recover damages and the amount they can receive depends on their state’s negligence laws
- What was the severity of the accident? The more severe a car accident is and the injuries from it are, the more compensation can be recovered. It is important to document injuries and the scene of the accident, regardless of whether you have insurance or if you’re at-fault
- Who is at fault? In some states, at-fault drivers can still recover damages. If you do not have insurance and are at-fault in a car accident, you will more than likely have to pay out-of-pocket for the other party’s damages if you’re in an at-fault state. You may also have to pay for the other driver’s damages if they surpass a certain monetary threshold in some no-fault states
- Does either driver have prior accident offenses? If you or the other driver have a record of getting into car accidents or other traffic accidents fairly often, this could affect settlements amount, especially if you’re driving without insurance which can be considered reckless
Missouri Rules of Fault in Car Accidents
Every state follows a different rule of fault law for car accidents. Missouri is an at-fault state but follows the “pure comparative negligence” rule. Pure comparative negligence allows for at-fault drivers to recover damages in addition to those that are not at-fault in a car accident. If you have been involved in a car accident and do not have insurance, you may be eligible to receive compensation but will be liable to pay for the other party’s damages. The amount that each driver can receive from a car accident depends on the amount they’re at-fault in the accident, details, and evidence from the accident, their driving history, and more. If you’re scrambling after an accident and unsure of what you should do, consult with a car accident lawyer immediately to better understand your rights, discuss your case and get your lawyer’s opinion on the outcome of your case.
How Can a Car Accident Lawyer Help if I Don’t Have Car Insurance and Am in an Accident?
It is important to have car insurance to stay safe and protected, but the truth is that if you’re involved in an accident and don’t have car insurance, there are still some things that can be done. An experienced lawyer can guide you through the process of dealing with your car accident case and make sure that you’re aware of all steps with the legal process before they’re taken. If you have any questions at all, your lawyer will answer them as best they can and relay any questions to the other party’s insurance company on your behalf. Are you ready to take hold of your accident case where you didn’t have car insurance? Contact the Dixon Injury Firm 24/7 and schedule a free consultation with one of our lawyers to get started on your car accident claim today.