Driving on a Suspended License in Missouri
October 10, 2019 | Criminal Defense
Driving on a suspended license comes with severe consequences, such as fines, misdemeanors, and in more severe cases, jail time. If you or someone you love has been charged with driving on a suspended license and needs assistance having their license reinstated or negotiating a reduction of charges, it’s essential to consult a Missouri Suspended License Attorney and discuss the options available to your case.
Top Causes of Missouri License Suspension
There are many different ways that a driver can have their license suspended in Missouri. If a driver is determined negligent while behind the wheel, the Missouri Department of Transportation might suspend or revoke an individual’s license depending on the circumstances involved in the accident. The most common causes of driver’s license suspension in Missouri, and the consequences for each includes the following:
- Unpaid traffic violations – according to the Missouri Department of Revenue, if “you accumulate eight points in 18 months, your driving privilege will be suspended for 30 days if it’s the first suspension, 60 days if it’s the second suspension, and 90 days if it’s the third suspension”
- Failure to Maintain Insurance – after the suspension period, you must pay a $20 fee and provide proof of ongoing insurance coverage after having your license reinstated
- Driving under the influence – consequences for a suspended license after a DWI includes a $45 reinstatement fee, proof of liability insurance for two years, and if a driver has more than one drug or alcohol-related offense, an ignition interlock device on the driver’s vehicle for at minimum, 6 months
- Failure to pay child support – $20 reinstatement fee, plus proof of compliance that shows the person is up-to-date on child support payments and eligible to have their license reinstated
- Refusal to take a breathalyzer – $45 license reinstatement fee, proof of insurance, completion of a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP), and in some cases, installation of a breathalyzer for 6+ months
The duration of a suspended license can vary significantly and is determined based on the number of points that a driver has accumulated on their driver’s license. With a St. Louis Car Accident Lawyer on your side, within 30 days of receiving a suspended license notice, you can appeal to have your license reinstated, points removed from your license, and severe charges settled for lesser charges.
How Do You Get Your License Back in Missouri After Suspension?
Missouri’s Statute of Limitations states that if a person’s driver’s license is suspended, they have displayed good behavior for a period of time afterward, and in some circumstances, completed mandatory drug, alcohol, or other state-enforced programs, the person can potentially have their license reinstated.
Without knowledge of Missouri’s legal system, it can be challenging to know what type of proof is required to defend your case for having your license reinstated, but with an experienced lawyer on your side, assessing your situation, developing a personalized plan, and defending your suspended driver license claim in Missouri, you can be confident that your driver’s license suspension won’t negatively impact your record and you have access to valuable resources during this difficult time.
St. Louis Suspended License Attorneys
If you or someone you love has had their driver’s license suspended after displaying negligent driving behaviors, failing to maintain insurance, not paying child support, or other violations, you need a Suspended License Attorney in St. Louis by your side, representing your case.
Christopher Dixon and the St. Louis Car Accident Attorneys at the Dixon Injury Firm are well-versed in Missouri’s traffic laws, the statute of limitations, and other regulations, and are passionate about fighting for the right of Missouri residents. If you need an attorney that’s straight-forward and supportive, yet aggressive when defending suspended license claims in Missouri, you should consult the Dixon Injury Firm’s Missouri Injury Lawyers now. Chris Dixon has been recognized as a “Top 100 Trial Lawyer” by the National Trial Lawyers Association and his efforts have recovered over $35,000,000 in settlements and recoveries for injury victims and legal claims in Missouri.
If you are interested in learning more about how Chris Dixon and the St. Louis Suspended License Lawyers at the Dixon Injury Firm can fight for your suspended license claim in Missouri, call (314) 208-2808, or contact the Dixon Injury Firm now for a free case review.